SUNY Brockport Overnight Host Program

Posted: March 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

For those of you who don’t know, I am a host for the Overnight Host Program through the First Year Experience office. I just hosted two visitors last Monday-Tuesday for 24 hours and had a good time although it was tiring. I showed them what it’s really like to be a student here and they seemed to enjoy it. I felt good when they both thanked me at the end and told me it was all extremely helpful. I took them to three of my classes along with three meals with different people. I was trying to introduce them to as much people as possible. We played Xbox a lot and watched Finding Nemo with a few girls down the hall. They were gone before I knew it and things went back to normal. Although I get paid to host, I would be more than happy to do it for free. It’s a great experience for everyone involved.

I first found out about the opportunity through an email last semester and saw it as a step forward in getting more involved on campus. I’m currently in the Finance club but wanted to do more so I found this to be the perfect opportunity.  Although this would be my first “job,” I was pretty sure I would get it just because I don’t see how someone who would apply couldn’t unless you did absolutely nothing with your time on campus. When I told people I applied they thought it was a joke because my first month on campus I didn’t talk to anyone so they couldn’t see me talking to a “stranger” for a day. That was my biggest concern but after hosting these two kids, I got a surge of confidence and knew I made the right choice in participating in the program. Since then, I’ve been trying to be more involved on campus unlike most people I know here. I’m actually planning on participating in the Disney College Program next spring which should be loads of fun. Work at Walt Disney World and earn college credit? Sign me up! (I’ll blog about that later) In April, I also plan on participating in JA IN A DAY, where I volunteer to spend a whole day in an elementary classroom and do activities with the kids to educate them while “playing.” I’m trying to build up my resume and every little thing helps.

P.S. I’m scheduled to host another visitor the Friday before break, not really a great time to do it so we’ll see how that goes. I’m also scheduled to host March 28-29, for 32 hours! :/

Leave a Reply

